MDDHosting Forums

Backup plans & strategies

SarisIsop

As there are a lot of MDD customers on-line at the moment I thought it could be a good idea to have a thread about Backup Plans & Strategies.

I'm sure there a lot of people here with a lot of knowledge and could maybe give people like me a dummies guide.

I currently take a weekly backup of my forum, but I think that it's only for the posts/threads etc, I also take a full backup when doing any upgrades. I do both of those backups from the Admin control panel, but I have never thought or even know how to take a backup of everything that is on my server.

I'm not technically minded when it comes to IT and I'm just an old bloke running a forum, so if anyone does have some tip on the best way to perform backups please pass them on as I'm sure I'm not the only one with MDD with limited knowledge.

I have seen Mike saying "If you have a cPanel backup" he could restore it.

#1 How does that work ?

#2 How long does it take ?

#3 Will it use a lot of bandwidth ?

I've also seen someone mentioning a complete backup transfer to Dropbox, is this easy to set up and would it have got us all back on-line quicker. ?

Anyway if anyone wants to chip in please do so.

Thank you.

It's really easy, in cPanel under "Files" there is this blue arrow that looks like a clock, named "Backup". Click it, then "Download a Full Website Backup". Next, you select where to save the compressed backup file (which also includes all databases). Can either be your home directory, so you can download it from your MDD FTP account once finished (leave e-mail notification checked) or directly upload it to a remote FTP server. Secure copy (SCP) is another option, it transfers the backup between hosts in SSH mode (if you don't know what this is, don't bother, pretty much a "pro" option). Voila, you got a full backup of all sites residing in your cPanel account.