MDDHosting Forums

How may I change my Wordpress admin userid?

fjpoblam

I am not a SQL expert, a Cloudflare familiar, or even an expert on the internals of Wordpress.

I suppose I could negotiate through the various Wordpress files and folders on my site and change a PHP file, if that's all it would take, but I suspect strongly that that's not where it's done.

I could add yet another admin user, but (1) two admin users may not share the same email address and (2) I fear using a different admin username will interfere with post authorship information, among other things.

I've scoured through the Wordpress control panel and my cpanel, and I see no easy manner to accomplish a change of my Wordpress admin username. Is it even possible?

[Edit: Ah, yes, and as you might deduce, I would appreciate an answer appropriate for a simpleton.]

The WordPress docs offer a few ways this can be done:

https://codex.wordpress.org/Resetting_Your_Password

PHPMyAdmin is available through your control panel. If you're not comfortable with that, they also give an option for editing a file and uploading it through PHP.

I would also suggest taking a backup of your account before making changes, just in case something goes terribly wrong.

Hope that helps

The WordPress docs offer a few ways this can be done:

https://codex.wordpress.org/Resetting_Your_Password

PHPMyAdmin is available through your control panel. If you're not comfortable with that, they also give an option for editing a file and uploading it through PHP.

I would also suggest taking a backup of your account before making changes, just in case something goes terribly wrong.

Hope that helps