MDDHosting Forums

Joomla 1.5 or what?

The Abbott

Its no big secret. I use Joomla 1.5 on my current website. Im still learning but I have tried several other programs and truthfully Joomla has impressed me the most. I havent used any commercial software cause well I can not afford it but, I wouldnt mind hearing what you think. If you use software for your site or sites let me know.

Its no big secret. I use Joomla 1.5 on my current website. Im still learning but I have tried several other programs and truthfully Joomla has impressed me the most. I havent used any commercial software cause well I can not afford it but, I wouldnt mind hearing what you think. If you use software for your site or sites let me know.

Joomla is very nice, I actually try to avoid CMSs unless it will make my life much easier due to the extra resources that a CMS demands :)

Well on the other side of that I am also using Kompozer. Ive been thinking about looking into frontpage but it looks like that may be going to the wayside for web expressions. I don't know im just a newbie. LOL HEck I still haven't even gotten into web security yet.

I've tried out Joomla and I've found it to be a bit too bloated. Although it's pretty decent if you need to put up a website quickly and allow others to manage content, or if you don't have much programming experience at all to build your own.

Since I do have programming experience, I've mostly end up using a MVC framework and doing it the way I want it while keeping it fairly organized. I've recently developed a web app for my company using Kohana, a lightweight PHP framework.