MDDHosting Forums

How to track down bot ip's

Mike W

Hello everybody. I'm having a bit of a problem here. I'm new to cpanel and am probably missing something, so please bear with me.

About a week ago, I noticed a huge increase in the CTR for my Adsense ads. After looking into it, I found out that only one type of add was getting increased clicks. It was the "animated image" ad type. It went from a CTR of under 5% to 35%+. The CTR on my other ad types are all normal. Since I changed the ads back to "text" only, everything has gone back to normal (though I now seem to be smart priced) <_<

I'm almost sure this is some misguided bot. If it were malicious, they would be clicking more than just "animated image" ads (which are by far in the minority)

I've been monitoring with Statcounter, but it doesn't appear to even show all bot activity. In Awestats, it shows a list of 10 or so bots. I want to ban all the ones that aren't Google, Yahoo etc...But I don't see the ip for these bots listed anywhere. I looked through some of the other options in cpanel and didn't see anything useful except for the raw access logs. But it takes a huge amount of time to go through these, and I'm not even sure what I'm looking for.

Also, does Awestats show all bot activity. I located a Sitelock bot in my raw access logs and banned it. But this bot was not listed in Awestats.

Sorry this is so long, I'm cpanel noob. I tried getting in contact with Adsense through their invalid click activity link. No luck so far.

I think the stats programs list bots that "self identify", so they won't list ones that don't identify themselves.

You can limit bots using a robots.txt file in your site root, but ill behaved bots will simply ignore robots.txt. One way to catch them is to create a "bad bots trap" ... there are several different variations out there, but most create a folder or link specifically denied to all bots in robots.txt and then track and see which bots ignore your directives.